House of Echoes by Brendan Duffy

 “Something my grandmother used to say. Keep up the light. To do the things that have to be done, no matter what.”

“I know the expression,” she said. She turned her head toward him, and he saw her face for the first time. She looked tired. “You never know what you’re capable of surviving until life demands it of you.”

Author Ben Tierney’s life took a nose dive when the economy collapsed, costing his wife Caroline her job and pinning their family between a rock and a hard place. To make matters worse, the Tierney’s second grader, Charlie, has had nothing but trouble with bullies at school, who even went so far as to lock the boy in the boiler room and lie to the FBI when questioned about Charlie’s whereabouts. Caroline is in desperate need of a reboot, and Ben could use a clearer head to make some progress on his new novel. Visiting the farm property left to him by his grandmother, Swannhaven’s police chief tells the couple about a vast piece of property for sale on the cheap.

Believing this is their chance at a fresh start, the Tierney’s buy the property, intent on fixing it up and turning it into an inn, but there’s something about the Crofts and the town of Swannhaven that doesn’t sit well…

View JenniferMelzer.com for more:
House of Echoes by Brendan Duffy

Hunters Unlucky Episode 51 – AH Worlds – Special Episode

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

“Hunters Unlucky” is an epic in the tradition of Jungle Book and Watership Down. The first episode aired on Nov 10th. It will run two episodes per week on Mon and Thur through July 2, 2015. All but Parts 1 and 2 will be removed from the feed on July 16. The entire book is available right now, with no intros or outros, on Audible.com.

View The Worlds Of Abigail Hilton Podcast for more:
Hunters Unlucky Episode 51 – AH Worlds – Special Episode

Update, Comic, Jager – Episode 113

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

I give a brief update on the comic and Jager Thunder.

View The Worlds Of Abigail Hilton Podcast for more:
Update, Comic, Jager – Episode 113

Mass Effect: Ascension by Drew Karpyshyn

the illusive manThe ultimate betrayal still hangs heavy in the hearts of the galaxy, and the destruction at the Citadel brought on by Saren and Sovereign lingers in the minds of all who witnessed it. Commander Shepard’s team barely managed to stop the madness, though there are those who refuse to see Saren’s betrayal for what it is. The Illusive Man will not stand idly by and watch as humanity is destroyed. His tactics may be immoral, his work unethical, but he and Cerberus will stop at nothing to keep humanity safe.

 

View JenniferMelzer.com for more:
Mass Effect: Ascension by Drew Karpyshyn

Hunters Unlucky Episode 50 – AH Worlds – Special Episode

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

 

“Hunters Unlucky” is an epic in the tradition of Jungle Book and Watership Down. The first episode aired on Nov 10th. It will run two episodes per week on Mon and Thur through July 2, 2015. All but Parts 1 and 2 will be removed from the feed on July 16. The entire book is available right now, with no intros or outros, on Audible.com.

View The Worlds Of Abigail Hilton Podcast for more:
Hunters Unlucky Episode 50 – AH Worlds – Special Episode

Heart of the Sun is Now Available for Pre-Order

Heart of the Sun–The Hands of War: Book One will be available for all manner of eReaders on May 25, 2015. This book will not be exclusive to Kindle, however, Kindle readers can pre-order a copy right now, which will be delivered to your Kindle at midnight in your region on May 25, for just $0.99. The price will rise to $2.99 on release day, so this is a great time to grab a copy for your Kindle or Kindle app at a discount.

Heart of the Sun HoW 2Fatally wounded in a harrowing battle against Enoch Lousse and the king’s Black Guard, Taven Grimmbane will die without a healer. Commander of the Argonel, Taven is the driving force behind the elven resistance. Without him, the last of the free elves will fall.
A healer’s hands restore life, even to those undeserving–that’s what Helti’s grandmother taught her. Taken captive by the Argonel and forced to heal their dying commander, a human healer holds the life of one of the most brutal killers of men in her hands, just as he holds hers.
Helti wishes she could hate him for the things he’s done to her people, but she embraced Taven’s soul when she brought him back from the veil between life and death, and she knows there is beauty yet within.
A single act of mercy could turn the tides of war. A healer’s compassion could touch the heart of a monster who doesn’t believe he deserves peace or redemption. If the sun could descend from his throne to give his heart to a human girl, surely an elf can find it in himself to love outside his race… even if only for a little while.

Pre-order your copy of Heart of the Sun today from an Amazon retailer catering to your region:

Amazon US, Canada, UK, France, Germany, Spain, Italy, Japan, The Netherlands, Mexico, Australia, India, Brazil

If you’ve got Goodreads, add Heart of the Sun to your Want to Read shelf, just follow this link.

 

View JenniferMelzer.com for more:
Heart of the Sun is Now Available for Pre-Order

In Which Alethea Interviews Sharon Shinn for USA Today

I am happy and honored today for two reasons: 1.) that I have the opportunity to interview one of my favorite authors, Sharon Shinn, and 2.) that I get to do it for USA Today’s Happy Ever After blog.

The graphic novel publisher First Second is announcing today a collaborative effort between Sharon Shinn and Molly Ostertag called The Painted Warrior (if you’re not familiar with Molly’s superhero webcomic  Strong Female Protagonist, I highly recommend you to check it out).

Needless to say, I am SUPER EXCITED about this graphic novel, and I was thrilled to have the opportunity to ask Sharon a little bit about the project.

Click here to read the full interview!

The post In Which Alethea Interviews Sharon Shinn for USA Today appeared first on AletheaKontis.com.

View AletheaKontis.com for more:
In Which Alethea Interviews Sharon Shinn for USA Today