The Scorched Earth by Drew Karpyshyn

the scorched earthContinuing the epic saga of the Children of Fire, Drew Karpyshyn’s The Scorched Earth picks up right where the first book ended, leading all four chaos-born children toward their destiny, while running from the minions of Daemron. Scythe, Keegan, Vaaler and their companions head into the Tundra, the land of the barbaric clans Norr once belonged to. When pursued by the Order, the quintet find themselves trapped, and would have starved to death had one of the clans not come to their aid, while Cassandra rushes across the land, toward the port city in hopes of escaping with the crown. Vaaler’s people have allied themselves with the minion, Orath, and storm the tundra to take back the ring Vaaler stole for Keegan after his own mother exiled him, and the Pontiff of the Order has declared another purge of those professing an affinity with chaos. None of the chaos-blessed are safe, and as the world tears itself apart, Daemron rubs his hands together on the other side of the veil, watching and waiting for an opportunity to return to power…

View JenniferMelzer.com for more:
The Scorched Earth by Drew Karpyshyn

#Flash Files Friday–Heart-Shaped Toast

David stared at the crustless toast, a half-melted pat of real butter slowly leaking into the crispy fibers of the bread as it slid across the surface so slowly only a stop-motion camera could have caught the movement. He loved butter. He’d bought it a week earlier, and had yet to use it, probably because some part of him still felt guilty about it.

Kelly wouldn’t let him have butter anymore, or egg yolks, or red meat, or whole milk. Not after the results of his last cholesterol screening. White meat, egg-white substitute, twelve grain bread, substitute butter only. Some creamy glob of whipped, hydrogenated vegetable byproduct that only melted after a solid thirty seconds in the microwave. It tasted the way he imagined spider webs soaked in toilet water might taste—Kelly said he was being overdramatic as she stirred spoonfuls of it into wilted spinach before plopping it down on his plate and telling him to eat it with nothing more than the glare of her cold grey eyes.

Kelly was gone…

View JenniferMelzer.com for more:
#Flash Files Friday–Heart-Shaped Toast

Hunters Unlucky Episode 54 – AH Worlds – Special Episode

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

“Hunters Unlucky” is an epic in the tradition of Jungle Book and Watership Down. The first episode aired on Nov 10th. It will run two episodes per week on Mon and Thur through July 2, 2015. All but Parts 1 and 2 will be removed from the feed on July 16. The entire book is available right now, with no intros or outros, on Audible.com.

View The Worlds Of Abigail Hilton Podcast for more:
Hunters Unlucky Episode 54 – AH Worlds – Special Episode

Beauty and Other Dangerous Things is Free

Beauty RedoThe Birth Month Celebration is going strong! I hope you had a chance to pick up copies of The Goblin Market and On Raven Wings while they were free. Did you save room on your Kindle? You did? Good! Because for the next five days you can add Beauty and Other Dangerous Things for free!

Beauty and Other Dangerous Things is a collection of five speculative fiction shorts, including “Beauty,” “Hate,” “The Clockwork Heart,” “Skin,” and “Between Moons.”

Thank you for helping me celebrate my fortieth birthday on May 22nd! I hope you’re enjoying all the free books I’m giving away this month, and that you take a moment after you read to leave a review. Reviews are always appreciated, even if you don’t love the book, as they help other potential readers discover new books and improve an author’s visibility.

You can grab your free copy of Beauty and Other Dangerous Things at the following Amazon store in your region:

AmazonAmazon UKCanada, Germany, France, Spain, Brazil, Mexico, India, Australia, Netherlands

View JenniferMelzer.com for more:
Beauty and Other Dangerous Things is Free

Children of Fire by Drew Karpyshyn

children of fireI was excited to dive into Children of Fire, the first book in an original world created by Drew Karpyshyn. I’ve really enjoyed Karpyshyn’s work on the Bioware novels for Mass Effect, so it was with great gusto I dove into the first book in The Chaos Born series.

The story begins under a bad moon, leading us through the birth of four special children, which was interesting enough, but a good chunk of the book that followed saw me haphazardly skipping through relevant points in the lives of the characters, as well as a few other voices peppered in for good measure. It’s obvious from the start these kids are going to be important, so I expected a level of personal development on behalf of each of those people that didn’t occur as I’d hoped. We are given just enough information about them to keep us wondering how and why they are important, but beyond that Karpyshyn doesn’t expand, and I found myself feeling disappointed in that aspect. There’s a part of me that believes if I’m going to follow not one, but four people through a cataclysmic event, I need to know who they are as people–beyond the surface elements they’re composed of…

View JenniferMelzer.com for more:
Children of Fire by Drew Karpyshyn

Hunters Unlucky Episode 53 – AH Worlds – Special Episode

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

“Hunters Unlucky” is an epic in the tradition of Jungle Book and Watership Down. The first episode aired on Nov 10th. It will run two episodes per week on Mon and Thur through July 2, 2015. All but Parts 1 and 2 will be removed from the feed on July 16. The entire book is available right now, with no intros or outros, on Audible.com.

View The Worlds Of Abigail Hilton Podcast for more:
Hunters Unlucky Episode 53 – AH Worlds – Special Episode

Happy Birth Month Event!

I am one of those people who starts talking about my birthday three months before it arrives because celebrating the fact that I am here on Earth is a huge deal to me. I love having birthdays. I don’t even care that it means I’m getting older, or that this year I’m turning forty on the 22nd. I’m not afraid of forty–I hear it’s the new twenty. I also love getting presents, and this year I’ve already gotten some pretty awesome gifts from the people who love me.

Heart of the Sun HoW 2I wanted to spend this entire month celebrating my new twenty with all the people who continue to make it possible for me to live my dream. To kick off the celebration, I set the pre-order price on my upcoming book, Heart of the Sun, as low as Amazon, Kobo and iBooks will allow me to go in price. Through May 25th, Heart of the Sun is available for just $.99, and then on release day it will shoot up to $2.99. Now is a great time to pick up a copy and help me spread the word about it.

But the celebrating doesn’t stop there. Throughout the entire month of May there will be one of my books free on Amazon at all times. Starting now… I will send out notice each week to let you know what’s free how long you have to grab it before the price goes back up. You can also stay on top of the freebies by following the link to my Amazon author page and clicking the “Follow” link under my picture. Save the page and return each week to find out which book is free.

goblin market updated coverRight now The Goblin Market is free through midnight on Saturday, May 9. If you don’t already have a copy of this book, now’s a great time to snatch on for your Kindle or Kindle reader app. Don’t forget to stay tuned to the site for announcement on the next free book, and please help me spread the word.

I hope you’ll join me in celebrating the big 4-0! Not a day goes by that I am not truly grateful to have the opportunity to do the one and only thing I’ve wanted to do with my life: tell stories.

View JenniferMelzer.com for more:
Happy Birth Month Event!