The Evolution of a Book Cover

SAH Contemporary logo

One great thing about being an indie author is flexibility when it comes to a book cover, and the ability to change it fast when a problem comes up. Today, I’m going to show you the cover for my next release, but I’m also going to show you some of the less tidy bumps in the road I hit on the way to the finished product. I thought folks might like an inside look at this process, and I promise it’ll be faster for you than it was for me. ;)

First up, I should probably tell you what the book is, shouldn’t I?

My Bittersweet Summer

Young Adult, Contemporary Romance (Upper YA)

Releasing June 1st, 2015

Add it to GoodReads here:
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25460108-my-bittersweet-summer

About the book:

Margaret Walsh worked for six years to overcome the trauma she endured at the hands of bullies as a kid, and graduation promises the chance to start over in college and leave the past behind her for good.

What was supposed to be her last summer of fun before moving to Paris turns into a nightmare as her parents announce they’re taking over management of a restaurant in the New England beach town where she spent her childhood. For them, it’s an amazing possibility. For her, it means confronting memories– and people– she’d rather forget.

Margie’s all grown up now, but some things never change. When Zach Robinson insists he’s not the bully she remembers, it’s all she can do not to laugh. Still, if she’s learned anything over years, it’s that everyone deserves an opportunity to be better.

Even lost causes need second chances, but with her heart on the line, asking her to bet on a long shot might take more faith than she’s willing to give.

This story is close to my heart, as it reflects a little of what I experienced growing up as a bullied kid. In many ways, it’s my “it gets better” book, and I hope it speaks to a younger audience dealing with some of those same issues. There’s lessons on second chances, deciding who you want to be, overcoming peer pressure, and pursuing your dreams despite the naysayers. Shutting out the voices telling you that you can’t isn’t easy, but it can be done.

So now let’s talk about the cover…

 

[…]

 

Other Bits and Pieces

Lex Talionis is now live in ebook form! If you’ve been impatiently waiting to get your hands on it (or for it to be available in Kindle Unlimited), the wait is over!

In conjunction with release day, I’m giving one lucky person a chance to win a 7-inch, Wi-Fi, 16 GB Kindle Fire HD!

To enter, write a review of Lex Talionis and enter the URL of the review on this form ( http://goo.gl/YFzV3I ), along with your name and email address. You can enter multiple times for the SAME REVIEW if it’s posted on different sites! This includes: Amazon, Goodreads, a personal blog, Facebook, or anywhere book reviews can be found. One winner will be selected using random.org and notified on May 27th, 2015. Note: HONEST reviews are truly appreciated. Higher star ratings will not increase your chances of winning!

***Due to the nature of the prize, this contest is open only to domestic United States locations.***

This contest will run from Monday, April 27th, 2015, through Tuesday, May 26th, 2015. That’s ONE FULL MONTH to read and review! Good luck and happy reading!

View StarlaHuchton.com for more:
The Evolution of a Book Cover

TRIXTER Now Available on EBook!

Hello, everyone–I am pleased to announce today that my fairytale novella TRIXTER is now available in e-book!

Trixter is Book 2.5 of The Books of Arilland (Enchanted is 1, Hero is 2, Dearest is 3) and Volume 1 of The Trix Adventures. The cover was designed by the amazing Rachel Marks.

TRIXTER by Alethea KontisSome handy-dandy links for you to share:

Amazon

Nook

Kobo

Google Play

iBooks

*********************

Fans who love hard copies, do not despair! Trixter will also be made available in both hardcover and paperback. Look for those links coming in a week or two. Or sign up for my newsletter and have all the shininess delivered straight to your inbox!

The post TRIXTER Now Available on EBook! appeared first on AletheaKontis.com.

View AletheaKontis.com for more:
TRIXTER Now Available on EBook!

Hunters Unlucky Episode 52 – AH Worlds – Special Episode

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

 

“Hunters Unlucky” is an epic in the tradition of Jungle Book and Watership Down. The first episode aired on Nov 10th. It will run two episodes per week on Mon and Thur through July 2, 2015. All but Parts 1 and 2 will be removed from the feed on July 16. The entire book is available right now, with no intros or outros, on Audible.com.

View The Worlds Of Abigail Hilton Podcast for more:
Hunters Unlucky Episode 52 – AH Worlds – Special Episode

House of Echoes by Brendan Duffy

 “Something my grandmother used to say. Keep up the light. To do the things that have to be done, no matter what.”

“I know the expression,” she said. She turned her head toward him, and he saw her face for the first time. She looked tired. “You never know what you’re capable of surviving until life demands it of you.”

Author Ben Tierney’s life took a nose dive when the economy collapsed, costing his wife Caroline her job and pinning their family between a rock and a hard place. To make matters worse, the Tierney’s second grader, Charlie, has had nothing but trouble with bullies at school, who even went so far as to lock the boy in the boiler room and lie to the FBI when questioned about Charlie’s whereabouts. Caroline is in desperate need of a reboot, and Ben could use a clearer head to make some progress on his new novel. Visiting the farm property left to him by his grandmother, Swannhaven’s police chief tells the couple about a vast piece of property for sale on the cheap.

Believing this is their chance at a fresh start, the Tierney’s buy the property, intent on fixing it up and turning it into an inn, but there’s something about the Crofts and the town of Swannhaven that doesn’t sit well…

View JenniferMelzer.com for more:
House of Echoes by Brendan Duffy

Hunters Unlucky Episode 51 – AH Worlds – Special Episode

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

“Hunters Unlucky” is an epic in the tradition of Jungle Book and Watership Down. The first episode aired on Nov 10th. It will run two episodes per week on Mon and Thur through July 2, 2015. All but Parts 1 and 2 will be removed from the feed on July 16. The entire book is available right now, with no intros or outros, on Audible.com.

View The Worlds Of Abigail Hilton Podcast for more:
Hunters Unlucky Episode 51 – AH Worlds – Special Episode

Update, Comic, Jager – Episode 113

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

I give a brief update on the comic and Jager Thunder.

View The Worlds Of Abigail Hilton Podcast for more:
Update, Comic, Jager – Episode 113

Mass Effect: Ascension by Drew Karpyshyn

the illusive manThe ultimate betrayal still hangs heavy in the hearts of the galaxy, and the destruction at the Citadel brought on by Saren and Sovereign lingers in the minds of all who witnessed it. Commander Shepard’s team barely managed to stop the madness, though there are those who refuse to see Saren’s betrayal for what it is. The Illusive Man will not stand idly by and watch as humanity is destroyed. His tactics may be immoral, his work unethical, but he and Cerberus will stop at nothing to keep humanity safe.

 

View JenniferMelzer.com for more:
Mass Effect: Ascension by Drew Karpyshyn