Hunters Unlucky Episode 32 – AH Worlds – Special Episode

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

“Hunters Unlucky” is an epic in the tradition of Jungle Book and Watership Down. The first episode aired on Nov 10th. It will run two episodes per week on Mon and Thur through July 2, 2015. All but Parts 1 and 2 will be removed from the feed on July 16. The entire book is available right now, with no intros or outros, on Audible.com.

View The Worlds Of Abigail Hilton Podcast for more.
Post Link:
Hunters Unlucky Episode 32 – AH Worlds – Special Episode

This Book Will Make You Happy by Jessamy Hibberd and Jo Usmar

This book will make you happyI received a free copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for a fair and unbiased review.

I have always had a soft spot for self-help books, maybe because even when I’m feeling 100%, in my heart I know there’s always room for improvement. This book came along at a really good time. I’ve said before, and will probably say again that every book comes along for a reason, usually just about the time I really need it. I think I needed this book…

View JenniferMelzer.com for more.
Post Link:
This Book Will Make You Happy by Jessamy Hibberd and Jo Usmar

Hunters Unlucky Episode 31 – AH Worlds – Special Episode

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

 

“Hunters Unlucky” is an epic in the tradition of Jungle Book and Watership Down. The first episode aired on Nov 10th. It will run two episodes per week on Mon and Thur through July 2, 2015. All but Parts 1 and 2 will be removed from the feed on July 16. The entire book is available right now, with no intros or outros, on Audible.com.

View The Worlds Of Abigail Hilton Podcast for more.
Post Link:
Hunters Unlucky Episode 31 – AH Worlds – Special Episode

In which Darcy & Jiji give the audience a break from potter…

In which Darcy & Jiji give the audience a break from potter and discuss the trends in audiobooks between the 80’s and modern day.

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.


View Fandom Phd for more.
Post Link:
In which Darcy & Jiji give the audience a break from potter…

The Writing Life: A Rose By Any Other Name…

What’s in a name? that which we call a rose
By any other name would smell as sweet;–William Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet

Writers are quirky people. Tune into any writer-central page on social media, and you’ll find yourself bombarded with funny memes about our many outlandish rituals and behaviors.

  • The Batshrine, which must be positioned just right around the workspace.
  • The trapping of a muse–followed enthusiastically by the plying of the muse, often with strong drink and occasionally cookies.
  • The bubble of seclusion, complete with masking tape-drawn parameters and a picture of Gandalf holding up the YOU SHALL NOT PASS sign.
  • The sacred coffee mug.
  • The appropriately scented candles, reminiscent of the forests of Mirkwood.
  • The carefully constructed soundtrack/playlist.

crazy writerThat list could very well go on for several miles, but you get the picture. Writers are often called eccentric for a whole host of reasons, including that we spend the vast majority of our time hanging out with our imaginary friends. And speaking of imaginary friends, today’s The Writing Life centers around them. No big surprise, I’m laying one of my major quirks on the table: names.

A few years ago, a friend of mine was selling her books to a publisher who shall remain nameless. They were very enthusiastic about her work, and we were all very excited for her, but then the publisher told her she had to change character names…

 

View JenniferMelzer.com for more.
Post Link:
The Writing Life: A Rose By Any Other Name…

Cover Reveal: INTO THE FIRE by Michele G. Miller

I have something AWESOME to show you guys today! My authorly sister-from-another-mister, Michele G. Miller, has a new book coming out soon, and today I get to show you the cover! Check out the gorgeousness of Into the Fire!

 

 
 
Release Date: Sunday 3/29/2015
Title: Into The Fire
Series: Wrecked: Book one
Author: Michele G. Miller
 
At fifteen, an accident turned my world upside down. Scarred in every way possible,
I shut down, finding comfort by self-inflicting pain.
I’ve grown accustomed to the truths of my life, but I’m tired.
Tired of this reality…
Tired of the need…
Of the pain…
I’m weary of being this person…
Of being alone…
Though, I’m more afraid of letting someone in.
It’s been five years.
Can I return home and face my fears? Overcome the pain?
It’s time to find out.
For too long, the story of my life has been one of horror.
I want my fairy tale.
I want my prince,
my happily ever after.
The question is,
does it want me?
*This is a standalone novel following a character introduced in the From The Wreckage
series. It is not necessary to read that series to enjoy this story.*

 

 

iBooks: http://bit.ly/1zMsSK8
Michele writes novels with fairytale love for everyday life. Romance is always central
to her plots where the genres range from Coming of Age Fantasy and Drama
to New Adult Romantic Suspense.
Having grown up in both the cold, quiet town of Topsham, Maine and the steamy, southern hospitality of Mobile, Alabama, Michele is something of an enigma. She is an avid Yankees fan,
loves New England, being outdoors and misses snow. However she thinks southern boys are hotter, Alabama football is the only REAL football out there and sweet tea is the best thing this side of heaven and her children’s laughter!
Her family, an amazing husband and three awesome kids, have planted their roots in the middle of Michele’s two childhood homes in Charlotte, North Carolina.
 

View StarlaHuchton.com for more.
Post Link:
Cover Reveal: INTO THE FIRE by Michele G. Miller

Got Swag?

helpful tips

So, I’m way, way behind in posting this, but house repairs from a water leak, a sudden influx of design work, and a book release sort of piled on top of me all at once. But now, I’m back at it and am here to bring you another post in the indie author cost/recoup series. This time, we’re talking about physical promotional costs.

Let’s run the numbers first. Of 121 responses:

  • 24 people paid $0 for physical promo items.
  • 43 people paid under $100.
  • 36 people paid between $100-$299.
  • 11 people paid between $300-$999.
  • 6 people paid over $1000 on physical promotional items.

So here’s where it gets interesting. The 24 people that paid nothing…

View StarlaHuchton.com for more.
Post Link:
Got Swag?